A Message to Local Governments: School of Government Assistance Available

About the Author

CED Guest Author

To North Carolina Local Governments Affected by Hurricane Irene: A Message from Senior Associate Dean Tom Thornburg

The School of Government wishes to make you aware of expertise among our faculty and staff that may be valuable to you in the aftermath of Hurricane Irene. Below are topics that we believe may be relevant to recovery. You can find a more complete listing of our expertise online at http://www.sog.unc.edu/node/1553. You may contact our receptionist at (919) 966-5381 for assistance. You may also contact me with questions about School of Government expertise:

Tom Thornburg (919) 966-4377 and thornburg@sog.unc.edu

Community economic development

Jonathan Morgan (919) 843-0972 and morgan@sog.unc.edu

Tyler Mulligan (919) 962-0987 and mulligan@sog.unc.edu

Court administration issues (facilities, for example)

Jim Drennan (919) 966-4160 and drennan@sog.unc.edu

Michael Crowell (919) 966-4438 and crowellm@sog.unc.edu

Emergency management, generally

Norma Houston (919) 843-8930 and nhouston@sog.unc.edu

Emergency purchasing and contracting issues

Norma Houston (919) 843-8930 and nhouston@sog.unc.edu

Frayda Bluestein (919) 966-4203 and bluestein@sog.unc.edu

Environmental assessment and regulation

Richard Whisnant (919) 962-9320 and whisnant@sog.unc.edu

Environmental health

Jill Moore (919) 966-4442 and moore@sog.unc.edu

Fire services (financial issues primarily, but also volunteer department/ local government issues)

Kara Millonzi (919) 962-0051 and millonzi@sog.unc.edu

Information technology recovery

Shannon Tufts (919) 962-5438 and tufts@sog.unc.edu

Jail Issues (inmate transfer, for example)

Jamie Markham (919) 843-3914, markham@sog.unc.edu, and @jamie_markham on Twitter

Land use regulation, including moratoria interim regulations, and flood hazard management ordinances 

David Owens (919) 966-4208 and owens@sog.unc.edu

Richard Ducker (919) 966-4179 and ducker@sog.unc.edu

Local government finance department questions (payroll, accounts payable and receivable, etc.)

Greg Allison (919) 966-4376 and allison@sog.unc.edu

Kara Millonzi (919) 962-0051 and millonzi@sog.unc.edu

Public health law, including communicable disease control and health department/board duties and authority

Jill Moore (919) 966-4442 and moore@sog.unc.edu

Public infrastructure: planning and financing its replacement

Kara Millonzi (919) 962-0051 and millonzi@sog.unc.edu

Jeff Hughes (919) 843-4956 and jhughes@sog.unc.edu

Public records law

Frayda Bluestein (919) 966-4203 and bluestein@sog.unc.edu

Fleming Bell (919) 966-4210 and bell@sog.unc.edu

In the event of damage to public records, local governments should contact a resource outside the School of Government—the NC Department of Cultural Resources—for advice.

Becky McGee-Lankford Head, Government Records Branch.

work: (919) 807-7353, home: (919) 544-0659, cell: (919) 612-0488.

becky.mcgee-lankford@ncdcr.gov

Sarah Koonts. Head, Collections Management.

work: (919) 807-7339, home (919) 303-7413, cell: (919) 244-5944. sarah.koonts@ncdcr.gov

Solid waste management

Jeff Hughes (919) 843-4956 and jhughes@sog.unc.edu

State Building Code, including building condemnation, temporary electric power, nuisance abatement, and related questions

Richard Ducker (919) 966-4179 and ducker@sog.unc.edu

Utilities

Jeff Hughes (919) 843-4956 and jhughes@sog.unc.edu

Kara Millonzi (919) 962-0051 and millonzi@sog.unc.edu

Shadi Eskaf (919) 962-2785 and eskaf@sog.unc.edu

Glenn Barnes (919) 962-2789 and barnes@sog.unc.edu

Mary Tiger (919) 843-4958 and mwtiger@sog.unc.edu

Leave a Reply

We will read all comments submitted to us, but we will publish only those comments that serve to advance our readers’ understanding of a post and are consistent with our institutional commitment to non-advocacy.

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>